My Favourite Life

October 28, 2007

Why Blog?

Filed under: Personal,Sex — myfavouritelife @ 7:13 am
Tags: , , ,

So, why do I blog anyway? I think this boils down to a couple of questions.

  1. Why did I start a blog?
  2. Why do I maintain a blog?

I am going to avoid these questions at first and talk about what I enjoy about other people’s blogs. I have several disconnected blogs, each in its own space. Each a base for reading other blogs in a similar space. If you haven’t figured it out by now, this blog is based generally on sex, and more specifically, my sex life—and sometimes the lack thereof.

I have always been interested in keeping journals. However, over the years my journals and other such documents including photographs have been lost and destroyed. Hopefully, this is more indelible. Besides, journals are private affairs. This is public, yet anonymous. I do have non-anonymous blog, too, only the topics are different: music, politics, family. I don’t tend to mix these topics. Market segmentation are proper demographic focus, I suppose.

From MyFavouriteLife, I enjoy reading about other people’s exploits, especially those of a sexual nature. I have had a long and perhaps sordid sexual career, but I have grown past some of these things. I guess “growing past” puts a bit of a negative spin on things. I don;t mean to say I have somehow matured past these things: D/s, swapping, swinging, and the such; I just am not interested in these things any more. At least not for myself. It was fun while it lasted, but that was then and this was now. Who knows what tomorrow will bring. No need to cling to the past. Every day is a new day.

All of this being said, I enjoy reading other about people. Particularly, I enjoy reading what women are doing and feeling in this space. Unfortunately, most societies are constructed in such a way as not to allow direct communication of a sexual nature across sexes. So we can do that here. I know some of these blogs are filled with stories and hyperbole, males posing as females and the like. There are all kinds. I don’t tend to read the BDSM stories all that much, but I do browse a few. Still, I want to hear her perspective. That is also why most if not all of my blogroll goes to sites from the female perspective. They aren’t necessarily as busy as I might like, but neither is mine. Safety in numbers, I suppose.

Why Did I Start a Blog?

I just wanted to recount some of my experiences for posterity. It seemed like the thing to do. Actually, I recorded a lot of the first few dozen pages in about a week. Then I separated them into individual days—just because. After that, I started commenting on other blogs and on my own life.

Why do I maintain a blog?

I don’t know why? I guess I see there are a lot of visitors, so I guess that is just some encouragement. I take breaks now and again because things are too slow or things are too busy, but I tend to return. Sometimes, I am just more in the mood for, say, my political blog. Besides, when I am here, I tend to surf other blogs. Besides enjoying them in their own right, they give me food for thought. Just the other day I was reading comments on my own blog by Tendernfine, and it made me think back to when I was doing what they were doing. I noticed I hadn’t posted much about those experiences, so I went back to fill in the blanks. If you read the post, you can see why I might not have written about it in the first place.

Anyway, I guess it is all just cathartic. I can read about other people having similar issues as me, both for better and for worse. Every time I say to myself, why bother, something prompts me to return and write some more. Perhaps, it is all just babble (like this post), but the future will tell.

1 Comment »

  1. I would like to see a continuation of the topic

    Comment by Maximus — December 20, 2007 @ 8:15 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

